Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

A pig from Where!?!?!
3:16 pm on Wednesday, Sept. 08, 2004


OK, here's the set up. We have a lovely 10 year old girl come to stay with us from time to time. She's a very sweet girl, very smart, and loves to play games.

We were playing Skip-Bo with her while she was here on Labor Day weekend, I think it was Saturday night, and I was taking an especially long time in one of my turns. After a while, she and Johan started staring at me in that "we're trying to make you laugh" kind of way. I looked at them, and then took longer than I had to. Moments later, out of the blue, she said "We're staring at you like we're pigs from Mars".

My world stopped. I looked at her and said, between bursts of laughter, "Did you. . .*laughlaugh*just say*laugh* pigs from *laughlaugh* Mars?!?!"I could barely breathe. She was laughing kind confusedly by this point, saying "What's so funny?"

It was a good 20 minutes before I could think, let alone breathe, well enough to actually take my turn.

That whole "It was funny because it was unexpected" thing? Totally true!

:D

Joy

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after