Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

The better thing
1:31 pm on Monday, Jul. 12, 2004


Dancing Shadow, from ExW said-

"HHmmm, I know this is housekeeping stuff. But its an interesting thought. Would you clean your house within an inch of its life if you knew Jesus was coming? Or would you simply tidy up, and expect that he knows your usual habits and will accept things the way they are.

There is a deeper thought lurking there somewhere, but I am too braindead at the moment to ellaborate."

My answer-

I know He would accept things as they are, but I'd still want to clean. I do the same thing for all my friends, and they all know how messy my house is and how unconcerned I am about it generally. I try, but. . .I'm still here on the computer, and not cleaning, aren't I? I clean for them, because sometimes the mess gets so bad it's a hazard to walk through, and I love my friends and want them to feel like their coming over is an event.

That's the deep thought. Whatever He'd think, His presence is a special event, an occasion. If you have time, clean! If you don't, stop cleaning and spend time with Him! Choose the better thing.

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after