Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

Thanksgiving, 2003.
10:18 pm on Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2003


Been a while, huh?

Well, life has been getting on with itself. I've been doing alright, being a mommy, cooking, cleaning, and loving God and my family.

I'm realizing that counting your blessings is the best thing you can do. We sang that hymn in church tonight, in our Thanksgiving worship service, and I'd never hard it before. I did, however, count my blessings in a post on ExWitch, and I'll post it here too.

**************~~~~**************

I'm thankful for~

My husband, the love of my life and my best supporter.

My children, the biggest challenge God could have given me. He's taught me a lot about myself thru them, and I thank Him every day for that. Sometimes it's through clenched teeth, but I thank Him.

My mother in law. Sometimes she and I don't get along, but God has taught me a lot through my relationship with her. She's a good woman who could have been a better mother, but then I ask myself, what mother is perfect?

My grandparents. I love them with my whole heart. They have been parents and grandparents to me in my life, and I dread the day they go Home, even as I rejoice that that day is near.

My pastors, and the friendships that John and I have developed with them. They are amazing men, and I thank God for putting them in my life. Most other pastors and I'd have been right back into Wicca, just to avoid the hypicracy.

My friend Trish, for the scare the other night. She woke me up, and gave me the chance to practice my faith, to show her the absolute love and joy Christ has given me.

My Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, without whom I'd be nothing but a sad, pathetic sinner letting my life waste away. There is no freedom without forgiveness, and there is no forgiveness without Him!

This forum, and the wonderful ministry it is. The opportunity to reach people with the saving knowledge of Christ, and God's ultimate plan for us! And the place to debate non-combatively about the things that could otherwise cause upset and anger.

My wonderful friends, both here and at home. There are people in my life that I've known for more than 15 years, that I'm not related to. It's a joy to be close to the people I'm close to, as much as it is a responsibility.

My Multiple Sclerosis. I've learned a lot from having it, and I praise Him for the fact that I'm not having a harder time of it. That He loves me enough to give me the ability to minister to those who are in need in an understanding way.

My divorce. The marriage wasn't Christ-centered, and we were both caught in much depravity. However, one of my biggest joys in life came from that part of my life as well; My eldest son, Michael.

Food.

Water.

Food Network.

The desire and ability to sew, and the great joy I take in it.

The desire to make my husband happy, not because he's my *boss* or my *owner*, but because I love him so much that I want what's going to make him happy. I want what's best for him, and for us, not just for me. I believe that since that's not a common, every-person attitude, that it's a gift from God that I feel this way.

My Nature as a woman. The ability to give birth. The lesson inherent in the bloody, painful birth of a child. (The lesson I took away was that if you love something, you'll go through much pain for the sake of the thing you love. You'll do what it takes to protect that child, that life that God has given you to love and live for, and you'll do it gladly as often as possible.)

A home.

Books.

Music.

A bed.

Someone warm and snuggly to share it with.

The heart to serve the Lord, and the opportunity to do so.

The chance to list the things I'm thankful for.

In all things I try to give thanks. When I fail, I try again. Sometimes, as I said earlier, it's through clenched teeth, but I thank God for all the things in my life, the ones that make me happy, and the ones that make me sad. The ones that make me joyful and the ones that make me mad.

Everything. Because I knw that the lesson is bigger than I could ever see right now.

Like I've said before, I think the first intelligible thing most of us are going to say when we get to Heaven is going to be "OH!!!! Now I understand!"

****************~~~~~~~~~***********

Anyway, that's that. Have a happy holiday, and don't forget what it's all about.

And please, for the sake of all that's true and right with the world, don't eat Tofurkey. Just the name of it is wrong. Eat a nice salad or something. Even vegetarians have some decency, right?

(Actually, I have no issue with Vegetarians, I'm jsut having trouble getting past the name of the tofu turkey. *shakes head* Tofurkey indeed.)

Love and grace, in His Name,

Joy

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after