Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

Prayer and praise for friend
2:55 am on Friday, Nov. 21, 2003


Tonight, I was called at about 10:00 by a lady I've known for more than ten years, becuase she was depressed. She has cancer, a resurgence of it, and is getting sick from the Chemo. Also, she's recently been dumped, abandoned at the alter by a man she was totally in love with. To add insult to injury, he had her served with court papers- also at the alter.

Before that, she had a boyfriend who abused her, and hurt her VERY badly(no details). And before that, she had an alcoholic husband.

And I said, she called me tonight, in tears, because she made a friend. A good Christian man, who attends my church. I'm not sure he's a member yet, but he seems to be the real thing. Anyway, she met this man, and he's been an unselfish friend to her. All the other people in her life seem bent that she should have a "Man" (aka boyfriend), but he's not intereted in her except as a friend. He's held her up, supported her, and cared for her when no one else did, or could.

She was in tears, upset, because she thought she had been more grief to him than she was worth. She was contemplating suicide, although I wasn't aware of it at first. I talked to her, told her that I care about her, and that he does too, no strings attached, because that's what He asks of us. Because she IS a worthwhile person, all on her own, not for what she can give or do or anything in return, but because she's WORTH IT. She told me she had a gun and was trying to think of reasons NOT to kill herself. Then she hung up on me.

I called the police right away,since she was parked in front of a police station. They looked into it, and found her, apparently just before she went after her gun. They called me, and we headed over to get her, but her friend had already picked her up.

At her house, we talked some more. She was still really upset, and at first she was mad at me. She got over that fairly quickly, and we talked about Jesus. She was raised Catholic, but had no knowledge of the saving power of Christ. Not concept of Salvation, except as far as the rote processes go. She'd said she was never setting foot in another church after her mother died, and didn't until her friend convinced her to come to mine. (I hadn't seen her in almost 8 years--God thing much?)

As I was saying, we sat in her living room, that I remembered from so many years ago, and for so many years back then, and she was just so broken. She was hurting, both mentally and physically. She was mad at the world, for the fact that life seems to be one thing after another, no rest, no time to think, no time to just STOP. She was happy to be alive and loved, and yet mad at me interfereing, all at the same time.

So I opened my Bible. And promptly forgot the verses of the Roman Road. So I faked it. I found a few of the right verses, and we talked somemore. She asked me what she could do. I told her that Christ was the only real answer to her problems, and she asked how that worked. I told her that she had to admit to being a sinner, and that she needs Christ in her life, and then to invite Him in. She asked how again, and so I led her in an ad-libbed version of the Sinner's Prayer. I really think she was sincere.

I really do.

As John and I got into the car, I looked at him and asked "Did that really happen?"

It really did. Praise the LORD!!!

So, everyone, the Lord brought a woman back from the brink of suicide, to a new life in Christ. To Him I give all my Praises!!!

For ever and ever, in Jesus name I pray,

Amen

Joy

**Cross post on A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after