Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

Live by the Word, and breath His life.
9:59 pm on Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003


Though God and Christ are a part of my daily life and thoughts, I've been lax in my reading of the Bible. I'm realizing that while I was in the Word on a daily basis, I wasn't overwhelmed by the things in my life. Lately, as I've been focusing my reading time on secular topics, I'm finding that I seem to have too much on my plate, so to speak. I've got so much going on, with kids and husband, and the verious things I'm involved in, that the "too much" point is swiftly approaching. But yet non of these things were too much when I signed up for them. I remember thinking that it was amazing that before I accepted Christ, I was overwhelmed by one project, or even one child. After, while I was in the word every day, or at least regularly, I wasn't intimidated by anything I felt that I should do. I have a passion about certain things, like little children (AWANA Cubbies), and Domestic Violence Awareness and Prevention (Volunteer work at the local women's shelter, which is pending), and then for Samaritan's Purse's Operation Christmas Child, which is just for a few days next month, and can mean so much to the children it effects.

All of these things have been big to me, and I'm excited about all of them, but I've been failing to read my Bible, to absorb the Word, for some few weeks now, and suddenly it's too much. Or seems so. I was looking at myself in the mirror today, thinking that I might need to get out of the AWANA thing, and then realized that that was why, and I need to live up to my...I don't know, calling? At least I think I've been called to this, although I'm not sure how long it needs to last. I told that voice to shut up, and went tonight, and loved it. I love those kids, and I love being able to help them, to make a difference in their lives. There is one boy who's right leg is missing from just below the knee. He wears a prosthetic, and, at four, he's able to handle it incredably well, on his own. None of the other kids give him a hard time about it, mostly because at three and four, kids tend to think of things as part of the scenery, as a fact, rather than as a "difference". He's the sweetest kid. . .They all are. I love that age. I'm glad I'm there, that I followed that calling.

I hope that my resolve to live in the Word more will be true. I'm praying for the strength to live up to my word. I'm going on that women's retreat this weekend, and I will not be taking anything but my bible and such. My secular stuff can stay here. I'm taking music, 75% of which is Christian. I need to focus on God, and that I will do. The company of Godly women will help consierably.

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after