Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

Raise a child. . .
11:29 pm on Tuesday, Sept. 23, 2003


"Raise a child in the way he should go, and when he is old, he will not part from it."

Today was enlightening.

I'd not realized that my childhood was more a lesson in what not to do than what I should be like as a mother. Now I look back at it, though, it most certainly was.

No, details aren't needed. Just suffice it to say that it was a good abject lesson, and I'll try not to repeat my parent's mistakes.

The Lord has much to say on the topic of parenting. Most ofit is in Proverbs, but there is more in other places. And the gist of it all is, teach. Pay no mind to that fact that they might not seem to be listening, don't fret on the fact that they seem to miss the point. Give them that guidance, and they will return to it. I did, in response to the guidence my grandparents gave me when I was less than five.

in addition to "Teach!", the other lesson I found tonight was to try not to incite the anger of your children, for the sake of angering them. The damage can be incorrectable.

Anyway, it was a very powerful session of my Homebuilder's group. This section should be interesting.

In Christ!

Joy

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after