Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

Exwitch rantiness.
12:49 am on Thursday, Nov. 06, 2003


"I always knew there was something besides Christianity for me, something better, more believeable. . .I always knew there was something MORE."

I've heard this arguement over and over from Pagans of all varieties, both while I was one, and now that I'm saved. I used it myself, in fact. I hear it from people raised in the church, and those invited in after their formative years. I've heard it from PKs, and from former mormons. From people of almost every walk of life, who have come to Paganism by means of a book, whether fluff like Silver, or dark like Crowley, or by means of a teacher.

And I think that it's a true feeling. I think being raised in the church does not teach you about Jesus, any more than riding in a car for the first 15.5 years of your life teaches you what it's like to actually get behind the wheel of that 1-ton machine for the first time. You know plenty about Him, but not Him, as Mark says in his sig. I think they're absolutely right to go searching for something more. I think more people need to. The problem is, what do they look to?

Most people come to Paganism in a broken state, at least in my experience. They get to the point that the corruption of the church, of the "organized religion" of Christianity, becomes more than they can condone, and so they go looking. The problem is, they go looking outward, into the world, instead of into the one place where you can find real answers. Where you can find the heart of God, of Christ.

The church is taking people, people ready to find His truth, who know what this world has to offer, and even that it's nothing real, and ignoring the potential. Ignoring the fact that those people would be Christ's strongest fighters, biggest lovers, of anyone. You have to be broken, sometimes shattered, before His mercy and healing will mean a thing to you, and yet that broken state is the point at which people are being driven away. And where do they go?

Young girls who are broken, hurting, are not as likely to go searching into the arms of the Father God, unless they know something about Him. I know it was the last place I was headed. I wanted a protective mother in my life, not a law-enforcing Father.

I guess what it comes down to is, you have to reach a state of brokeness before you can really understand what Christ has been for you, what God has done. What that sacrifice meant. You have to see that all the things the world has to offer are fleeting, of no real use, let alone value. That when we die, we die equally, and what we had means nothing. But you need someone to help you with that lesson. Otherwise, you look in the wrong place for that food, for those answers.

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after