Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

A post and a prayer
2:22 am on Friday, Apr. 04, 2003


Ok, this is the entry I posted in someone's comments page. It's pretty firmly fence-sitting, as most of my friends and readers will recognize as me.

My prayers are with the troops in Iraq, and the innocents in Iraq, and with President Bush, in hopes that the choices he makes are the right ones.

**************************************

First, I take it that to you, war means only battle of the physical kind. Correct me if I'm wrong. Better yet, show me.

Second, I have nothing against anyone personally, nor will you hear me call anyone "unpatriotic". Patriotism has little to do with your opinion, and everything to do with your personality. Do you respect this country, what it stands for, and how we got here? If so, then you are a patriot.

Third, . . .Bushites? I've heard the followers of the church of Scientology called "Hubbardites" by my man Heinlien, but. . .Bushites? *giggles*

Fourth, ". . .report the news as they see it, fairly and honestly." When it comes to opinion, that is the farthest thing from the truth. Report the news as it happens? Yes. Report the news "as they see it"? No. A fair and honest reporter would not.

I am hugely bothered by the number of civilian deaths and injuries in this mess. I am rather offended by the disparaging comments made here about Christians, as I am one. I am disturbed by all of this, but I am also not convinced that you are "right", any more than anyone else in this madness is right. War is a sad, and powerful, and painful thing, and one which our generation, or mine at least, has seen very little of. I'm not angry like my little sis Windy, and I'm not convinced of anything in this war, one way or the other, because the whole idea of war makes me sick, but I do recognize the place that it has, both in history and possibly in the future. Remember, those of us who love peace, really and truely, are not afraid to fight for it, when and if we must. Those of us who know truth are not afraid to speak it, whether it's a happy day that sees it or not. I respect people who profess the Quaker faith, because they are pacifists in truth, both in action *and* in words. I repect your right to hold your opinion, and also my right to hold my own. I honor our troops, not as poor, unknowing children sent off to face the horrors of battle, but as willing men and women, doing their country, and you, and me, a service that can never be repaid. I despise the actions of the people who have withheld honor from the troops from Vietnam, and I am throughly disgusted by the insulting, flaming, and just plain rude way you speak to those who disagree with you, political activist or not. "Activism" does not mean "I can say what I want, and you have to take it". You can say what you want, but I'll tell you, you will not get far, with me at least, with your answers full of insults. Convince me, if you can, and you'll have my respect. If you want me to leave, though, I will.

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after