Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

The fence hath started to chafe
12:35 p.m. on 2002-07-08


I really didn't know where I stood on the whole Pledge thing, until today. Sometimes it takes hearing the most extreme opinion to realize that the other side is right.

I found this in Sunday's Arizona Republic, in the Viewpoints section.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kim Beneli

46, operating engineer, Surprise

I am so sick of people in this country being divided by everything from sex, color, ethnocentrism, and religion that I could scream. Does the Pledge of Allegiance violate separation? Who cares! You are either an American or you aren't. If the Pledge says God, and you want to live in this great nation, then give your pledge. If you don't like the wording, move to another country that has a pledge more to your liking. I like it as it is.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

She was just one of about a dozen opinions, ranging from this side to the other, but this one stuck out in my mind. She's sick of the divison in this country, so the people who don't agree with her should leave? My religion has nothing to do with my citizenship here, and the constitution took measures to prevent just this kind of thing from happening. Not their fault it failed!

Until this, I was thinking, you know, I'm not Christian, but I do believe in "God" so to speak, so I'm ok with it staying the way it is. . .But then, there are people who most certainly do not believe in God who have just as much right to live here as I, and they should not be forced to act in such a way that violates what they believe. Or don't, as the case may be.

It took hearing the extreme of the attitude to realize that this is probably more prevelent than I could have guessed. I should broaden my view a bit. But for now, I have climbed down from the fence regarding the pledge, and I'm firmly on the "No more Under God" side. I'll still say it, but I think it should be removed from the official version.

Of course, this is all IMO.

Cora

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after