Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

In Memoriam
11:23 p.m. on 2002-05-28


I just finished watching the special "In Memoraim, New York" on HBO. For those who don't know, it's about 9-11, and the WTC attacks. (although if you don't know, I want to take a look at the rock you've been hiding under. . .)

Anyhow, I had meant to record it, but failed in that. I wanted to show it to some of my friends, and I think the reason I missed recording it the two times it was on was because the people I wanted to show it to probably aren't ready for it yet. I have to admit, it's still pretty fresh in my mind, and it keeps getting worse every time I see anything about it.

But I'm glad. I don't want to forget. I don't want to callous myself to the world's hurts, because I want to care. I want to help, and forgetting is not the way to do it. I refuse to become one of the sleeping masses, ignoring the truth before me. I am damned well bound and determined to make a difference, come hell or high water.

I cried during the film, several times. Mostly about the people, although more than people died when that building went down. I cried for the hope and feeling of community that building represented; For how powerful the words World Trade Center can be, because it was true. People from 83 different countries were there, and died. This is why the world mourns together. And I mourn for all of them.

I live in Arizona. I've seen first hand here what hate and anger about something that is done and finished can do. It pains me, the number of people who wanted nothing more than to continue the cycle of hate that brought those horrible, insane terrorists to our doorstep, to destroy our lives. And I couldn't explain it then, why I was so against the ideas they were presenting. Why bombing the country of the ones responsible wasn't the solution I would want.

But I have the words now.

Every death detracts from the world. Every hurt caused hurts the one who caused it, and every death, no matter how justified, lessens those who are left. This is the reason we should treat people as we want to be treated, and the reason we should let go the anger and pain we feel towards one another. Why revenge is so harmful to the one who seeks it. And why it never fixes whatever was broken, no matter how justified it may be. The only excuse for killing, and I do mean the ONLY reason, is in defense, either of yourself or another. Once the deed is done, killing in response makes no difference at all.

Easy to forget that sometimes, right?

Yeah, for me, too.

Anyway, that is my insight to this. We shoukd never forget, and indeed, we never will, but neither should we hold our anger and resentment. It makes your soul sick, and mine is already sick enough.

Joy



the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after