Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

Beware! Long and full of opinions! Could be controversial!
9:33 p.m. on 2001-12-16


Well, another day has gone. I'm sure glad Santa is a mostly non-religious icon, because Pagan kids would sure miss out on the "gimmie" part of Christmas.

Mikey, my sweet loveable four year old, is finally getting used to his schedule. He's ok with the coming and going we have for him. Divorced family kids sure have it rough. Even though my ex and I get along, we still have a problem with the travelling he does. My ex is supposed to have primary custody, but he works full time, and Mikey is in school, so I have him most of the time. I am glad, but his daddy only gets to see him on weekends, which sucks for both of them. At least I have full legal rights. That way it all works out.

This whole bin Laden tape is making me mad. It's release has done nothing but make people as angry as they were back in September. I think the Pentagon was trying to rekindle the anger so they would have the backing of the people again. It all makes me sick to my stomach. I wish the bastard would just give up, and get it over with. I'm tired of seeing the worst in the people I care about, and feeling the worst of the human emotions in myself.

That's the worst of what that bastard has done. He has reminded us of what people are capable of, and refreshed it in many of us, as all the Muslim Americans can attest to. It's atrocious, and they (the Taliban) had no right. I think what hurts the most is that this is not the end. There will be others, worse crimes, more pain, in my life and in the lives of my children, and not a damn thing I can do about it. . .

Except speak out, act out, make my voice heard if I can. Action is the only solution to the worlds current problems. Sorry, make that positive action.

I think being Pagan gives me a very different PoV. I've read about holy wars in the Bible. I suppose it's only those sanctioned by the Judeo-Christian God (not, of course, including Islam) that are allowed to kill huge numbers of people because their god "told them to". I can sanction killing out of necessity, in self defence or the defence of another. I can sympathize with the woman who calmly, sanely kills the molester of her children after he's been acquitted. Murder to me implies no wrongdoing on the part of the one killed. If someone needs killing, I respect the one who is willing to do it and take the consequences. The respect ends the moment that person tries to get out of those consequences.

Dont get me wrong. I in no way sanction the "holy wars" of the Bible. I think they were simply excuses to do the things they wanted to do, to gain the land they wanted because it was the best to be had. I think the Crusades were nothing more than political wars. We have all seen what mixing politics and religion has wrought. I have cited some examples here already, and there are infinatly more I could mention.

I wonder where it becomes ok to kill in the name of God, and where the line is drawn. When do we as a people stop "passing the buck"? I think it's time for those of us willing to take the consequences of our actions to stand up and do something about this world. Start at home. ACT!. There is nothing more important in the world than action. If you don't believe me, pray about it, no matter the god you follow. We all follow the same Spirit, the same God, anyway, although most don't see it.

This is the longest post I think I've done so far. It's also full of strong opinions. If you wish to debate this, I welcome it, but do ask that you take it to my website's message board. The link is to the left. Thank you for reading the whole thing, and I hope to hear some sane, flame free debates at my site.

Love to all
Bright Blessings!
Cora

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after