Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

What Susan Said
8:37 pm on Wednesday, Jul. 16, 2003


This is yet another reason I LOVE this man's music. . .

*You guys have been a lot of fun to play for. [Beaker and I are] both a little bit frazzled, as you might have guessed. And I was gonna say, I start talking about home, because I don't know why, as I get older, I want to spend more time at home. When I get there, I get real uncomfortable, because it doesn't really feel like home, either.

I just wrote a line for Beaker one time. Because, you know how hard it is for guys to tell each other they love each other? We're just, we're so homophobic that we can't even be honest. So I really wanted to tell Beaker I loved him. So I wrote this really stupid song for him that I thought was kind of funny. And I included a woman's name, because my audience is so homophobic, that if I wrote a song for a guy they would stop buying my records, and let's face it, I gotta make a living.

The line that I especially liked was "if your home is just another place where you're a stranger." Because I think, I think so many of us are looking for that place where we really fit. Where we really belong. And the bad news is that I don't think that there is such a place. I think that part of being human is being alone. And being lonely. I think one of the stresses on a lot of our friendships is that we require that the people we love take away that loneliness. And they really can't. And so, when we still feel lonely, even in the company of people we love, we become angry with them because they don't do what we think they're supposed to. Which is really something that they can't do for ya. So don't be mad at each other over this. Don't be disillusioned with each other just because you feel lonely around each other.

Source: The Sept. 21, 1996 Upland, Indiana concert transcript.*

That was in regard to the following song. If you like it, follow this link. He is worth checking out. Now, without further ado, here's the song.

What Susan Said

Two lonely-eyed boys in a pick-up truck

And they're drivin' through the rain and the heat

And their skin's so sweaty they both get stuck

To the old black vinyl seats

And it's Abbott and Costello meet Paul and Silas

It's the two of us together and we're puttin' on the mileage

And we both feel lost

But I remember what Susan said

How love is found in the things we've given up

More than in the things that we have kept

And ain't it funny what people say

And ain't it funny what people write

And ain't it funny how it hits you so hard

In the middle of the night

And if your home is just another place where you're a stranger

And far away is just somewhere you've never been

I hope that you'll remember, I was your friend

Two full grown men in a huddle of kids

And they're trying to help them to believe

What is too good to be real

But is more real than the air they breathe

And it's Wally and the Beaver, David and Jonathan

It's the Love of Jesus puttin' on flesh and bone

And we both feel lost

But I remember what Susan said

How love is found in the things we've given up

More than in the things that we have kept

And ain't it funny what people say

And ain't it funny what people write

And ain't it funny how it hits you so hard

In the middle of the night

And I remember what Susan said

And ain't it funny what people say

And ain't it funny what people write

And ain't it funny how it hits you so hard

In the middle of the night

And if your home is just another place where you're a stranger

And far away is just somewhere you've never been

I hope that you'll remember, I was your friend

I hope you'll have the strength to just remember

I'm still your friend

Copyright 1992 - Edward Grant, Inc.



the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after