Current - Archives - Profile - Guestbook
Notes - Email - Serious Rings - Fun Rings
The Lighted Path - Design - Host

Ray Bradbury
1:39 p.m. on 2002-09-28


Well, I've been trying to get an entry in here for over a week now. No luck. I think I have something to write, and I sit down to do so, and I just can't. I hate it.

But today, I have something. Ray Bradbury. How did I miss this growing up? Where along the lines did I miss the fact that he is an amazing, talented, phenominal author?

I've never read anything that I considered a waste of time. I've always been one to take writing very seriously, no matter how interested I was or wasn't in what I was reading. I've begun this, though, and you know. . .Anything I've read before, no matter the calibur of the author, was a waste of time, compared to this. The beautiful way he puts a story together, especially in his short stories, just amazes me. He writes a story from the most unlikely points, the most engaging, but unexpected, perspectives. A story about three women waiting for an atom bomb to strike, and the description of the moment that it does. A man, defending his, and his family's, right to be viewed and treated as people, not just background. A woman about to embark on an unbelieveable journey, with love in her heart, and fear, and future. He leaves the end of the story to the imagination, leaves it open to possibilities, and it leaves the characters alive on the paper, in the story, no ending, no beginning, just there. Just like us.

I could go on. They all deserve my attention. But the best thing I can do, I think, it tell you to GO READ IT. Ray Bradbury is one of the greatest authors of our time, and perhaps all time. He's the real thing.

Joy

the latest:
A prayer for today. . . - Monday, Aug. 29, 2005
A baby. . . - Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2005
Update. . .a baby!!! - Saturday, Jul. 16, 2005
Easter. . . - Monday, Mar. 28, 2005
Today is the day that the Lord has made. . . - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005

before & after